You Are Here: Home » Responsa Resource » Kashrut » Kosher Cheeseburger

Kosher Cheeseburger

Question:
Would a kashrus authority be permitted to grant kosher certification to a restaurant that wants to serve a vegetarian burger with vegan or milky cheese or real meat burger with vegetarian cheese?

Many thanks

Answer:

Shulchan Aruch [Y:D 87:3] requires that a ‘heker’ be set in place when having almond milk with meat. A hechsher would have to assure that a proper ‘heker’ is set in to place, so that it is obvious to everyone entering that there is no basar b’chalav being eaten.  

Leave a Comment

Scroll to top